Looking Forward To A Year Of Momentum

Yee-Haw!
Yee-Haw!

Are you making plans for 2015? Writing out your goals? If so, congratulations- that is the first step toward actually achieving your desires.   The act of writing it down gives your dreams a shape, allowing you to more easily attract what you desire. Even if all of your goals are not met in the time frame you hoped, you are more likely to take steps forward if you actually write them down on paper or on your screen.

Of course, it’s only the beginning. The rest is work, focusing and to an extent, luck. Personally, I check in on my goals periodically throughout the year. Last year in December I wrote a post about my writing goals because frustration had caused me to re-assess where I was at. By the end of the post, I realized I had made much more progress than I gave myself credit for, and that my writing projects did have potential- so giving up out of frustration would have been a really bad idea.

That is another benefit of writing out your goals- it may help you to see where you are actually at. Looking at last year’s post, I can see where I have made progress this year:

  1. In the Series I have been working on (Romance Fantasy genre) I finished the draft of Book One, and about half of Book Two. Then I took a break, because it was so intense, between structuring the series, world building, and then the edits required to make it all work. I received some great feedback on it and plan to keep moving forward in bringing the world and its characters to life.
  2. That book I had “put in the drawer”, my first novel? Well, I picked up again for a re-write. It’s a Romantic Suspense with supernatural elements, and I hope it will be ready for the world sometime in 2015. I will keep working on it until it is- no more drawers!
  3. I actually began a new story- a Contemporary Romance with – you guessed it- supernatural elements. This one has been in my head for a few years, clamoring for its turn to be born. I hope to finish the initial draft in the first quarter of the year.

I also published at least two blog posts each month, so I actually wrote way more this year than I had expected. Color me surprised! I was lucky to have time and opportunity to be able to focus on writing. Some years it just doesn’t work out that way.

I have also made a conscious effort to not procrastinate or get distracted by shiny things on the internet, and you know that’s not easy!

So this upcoming year, I will take last year’s goal (focus on writing words) and add to it- edit my “darlings” until they are ready to face the world. Taking what I accomplished last year and hopefully, giving it momentum.

What is your goal this year? Do you find writing down your goals really helps?

Whatever your goals and dreams, I hope they find momentum in 2015!

You can do it!
You can do it!

 

2 thoughts on “Looking Forward To A Year Of Momentum

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.