Taking Control of the Reins in 2016

Dawn of an Era?
Dawn of an Era?

Has this ever happened to you? You think you have your plans all laid out, and they seem doable. But somewhere along the way, you change course and go in a completely different direction, and end up with an even better plan. Was it luck, or was it simply meant to be?
What Happened to My Goals?
Last year at this time, like many others, I wrote a post about goal setting and assessing where I was at in relation to my writing career goals. I had a premonition that 2015 would be a year of momentum, and it turns out, I was right. It was also a year of personal turmoil for me, but somehow I managed to stay on track, and accomplish more than I’d expected to. The only twist was, what I accomplished was completely different from the goals I had set.
One of my goals last year, which I explained in that post, was to self-publish my first novel- the one that had been stuck in a drawer while I worked on other projects. I had rewritten it, and in the process I became excited about the story again. Though I failed to meet my goal of publishing in 2015, I’m not disappointed. I was so inspired, I not only revised and edited that first book, Unexplained, but wrote two more books in that series: Untouched, and Undeniable. Thus, the Higher Elevation Series was created.
Yes, it was a year of momentum, and my writing and editing speed have improved dramatically. I pushed hard to complete all three novels, and though they are related because of the setting and characters, each story stands alone. I knew I needed to finish all three before publishing any to ensure continuity and now that they are complete, I am looking forward to publishing the series (all three books) in 2016.
I’m A Shifter
What I learned is this: sometimes shifting gears is necessary. Setting goals is important, but being able to trust your gut and go where the energy flows is important, too. Last year, I let the momentum carry me along, and it paid off. Now I feel an urge to take the reins, so to speak, and take more control of my projects, and my life in general.
As if in support of this decision, the universe has presented me with some new situations in my personal life as well. I am contemplating some major changes, and if the energy flows the way I want it to, 2016 just might be my year. So I’m going to grab hold of those reins and ride, letting 2015 fade away, because there’s a bright new dawn on the horizon.
What about you? Have you ever completely changed course from your goals? How did that work out for you?
Wishing all who read this a prosperous and Happy New Year!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.