My Top Five Blog Posts- Proof That Sex Still Sells

Obligatory Ab Shot

Obligatory Ab Shot

Well, it finally happened. After three years and almost one hundred blog posts, I hit the wall─I could not come up with a topic for my next blog post. Frankly, I’m surprised it took this long, proving you never know what you can accomplish until you try!

So I took a look at my stats to see what my all-time most popular posts were, hoping the muse would jump back into my lap(top), and the words would start flowing again. The results were telling, and also amusing.

Work vs. Fun

I’m no longer a newbie writer, but I never saw myself as an expert, either. So my blog posts about the writing and publishing business are from the perspective of my own journey, which I hope will help others to find their own path. In between those posts, I threw in some topics just for fun. Turns out, it’s those fun posts which have garnered the most views and shares, and continue to climb.

 

So here are the current stats on my Top Five All-Time blog posts (you can click through to read them, if you like):

 

What Is The Sexiest Piece of Clothing A Man Can Wear?                                                     2,439 views!!

Tattoos- As Important As Hot Abs on Heroes?                                                                           404 views

What Is It About Jamie Fraser?                                                                                                      373 views

Five Ways Writing Erotic Poetry Helps Romance Writers                                                        299 views

The Future of Romance Novel Cover Art- Are Hot Abs the New Bodice Rippers?               271 views

 

I’m still mystified why the first one, a light piece about men’s sexy clothing styles, is far and away the top post. There are photos of fully or partially clothed men in it, but all are tasteful. Apparently, many of you were curious about what clothes make a man look hot!

I Sensed A Theme…

There is a running theme with all five posts─sex.  Hot abs, sexy guys, even my all-time favorite fictional hero, Jamie Fraser of Outlander fame. Even the one piece specifically focused on writing skills is about erotic poetry. So, yes, sex still sells, or in this case, succeeds in gathering an audience.

More To Come…

I’m sure in the future I will have lots to say about fiction trends, the business of writing, and other important topics. But the steamy side of romance is still important to me, and it shows in my fiction work (which I hope to bring to the world very soon). So there will be also be posts like the ones above, where we just have fun and look at hot guys and talk about Book Boyfriends.  I believe balance is the key to everything!

So thanks for reading and following my blog. My goal is to be helpful and entertaining for many years to come.

And stayed tuned for the unveiling of my new Author Website, coming soon…

Do you have a blog?  What are your most popular posts?  I’d love to hear about it!

 

Leave a Reply

