The Metaphysical Side of Love

pages of a book curved into a heart shape

Are you fascinated by the unexplained? Do you enjoy reading about concepts that expand your mind? I must confess, I have always been curious about the supernatural, the metaphysical, and unexplained phenomena that have caused humans to wonder for centuries now. What is even more fascinating is the fact that what was considered unthinkable as little as a hundred years ago, is commonplace now. Just take a look at your smart phone, and think about it for a minute. What would the folks in 1915 say about it?

The umbrella of “paranormal” covers quite a bit of unexplained phenomena, at least in the Romance Novel world. Vampires, shape shifters, angels, demons, witches, fairies and ghosts are only the tip of the iceberg. As I examined in an earlier post, folklore and legends abound featuring these types of entities, providing fodder for endless stories. Add to that, humans with supernatural capabilities, such as elementals or psychics, and there is no end to the variations one could write about.

So how are smart phones related to paranormal entities? One is science (technology) the other, fantasy. But wouldn’t it be cool if science and fantasy were combined?

That’s what happens when we read about paranormal situations and creatures. Our disbelief is suspended as we are drawn into the story. We get to experience what it might be like if something unbelievable were true. Add to that the relationship of the Hero and Heroine, and the result can be something truly magical.

That is the type of stories I tend to write. I have several works in progress at present, and all have some metaphysical aspect to them. All are Romances, but they have a supernatural twist to them. A Contemporary Gothic ghost story; a Fantasy family saga about elementals; and a story about a couple who can astral project together (for an earlier snippet, click here). All projects are in various stages of writing or editing, and I hope to have something ready for publication this year.

I read primarily romance, but I love science fiction, and some fantasy. I like my romances on the steamier side, so I tend to combine esoteric concepts with the erotic. It seemed to work well with my astral-projecting couple, who had some unique, metaphysically hot sex scenes!

Most of all, I want to have fun with it and maybe learn something along the way. If combining science, fantasy, metaphysical concepts and hot sex sounds interesting to you, stay tuned. I’m just getting started….

What kind of interesting, unexplained phenomena would you like to see in Romance Novels?

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Metaphysical Side of Love

  1. Renee, I want to be taken away from reality and into the world you describe. Maybe most feel this is not for men but reality sucks sometimes and fantasy has an appeal. I feel I have been alone too long but I hope I can get my battery charged up again and focus on reading your book. Inside every clown is a heart broken person trying to break out.

    Love you,

    Kenobi

    Like

Leave a Reply

