My Top Five Astrology Books- Useful and Fun

Astrology concept. Horoscope with Zodiac signs. Vector Illustration

Astrology concept. Horoscope with Zodiac signs. Vector Illustration

Does anybody pay attention to Astrology anymore? Well, probably more than you would guess. It’s one of those things that fades in popularity, only to come back around again. Though it is generally regarded as nonsense, there must be something to it that interests people, since it never really goes away.

As I noted in an earlier post, I am a skeptic, but I have an open mind when it comes to the unexplained. Astrology is one of those things that I don’t really believe in, but I love to read about. I have found daily or monthly horoscopes (predictions) to be useless, so none of the books on my list contain those. But what keeps me interested in Astrology is this: roughly eighty per cent of the time, the personality profiles are accurate.

That said, the personality traits of the various signs are never exact, which is a good thing. It would be horrible if there were only twelve types of personalities in the world. But more often than not, I have found people to behave enough like their Sun Sign profile that many times I can guess a person’s sign before I know their birthdate (surprises them every time). I have read many books and articles on Astrology, for fun and to educate myself.

Many writers use Astrology to round out character profiles. Whatever you may use it for, I hope this list of my favorite, most accurate, and most useful books on Astrology will help:

1. & 2.  Linda Goodman’s Sun Signs and Linda Goodman’s Love Signs– both top spots go to the most famous and popular Astrologer of the last century. In 1968, her Sun Signs book was a runaway bestseller, catapulting her to the top of the New York Times Best Seller list.   This was one of the first books I read on Astrology, and I was hooked. Her anecdotal style made the personality profiles more personal, more relatable. This in depth study of each sign and how they interact with others is a great introduction book. Though it was written long ago, it still rings true.

Her follow up, Love Signs, was published in 1978 and was also a best seller. Focusing on the romantic aspects, it built upon the original book, and was also written in a very personal style. Linda’s writing makes you feel as though she is sitting in your living room telling stories about the various signs.

3.  For a spicier read, try The Celestial Sexpot’s Handbook, by self-proclaimed “Astrosexologist”, Kiki T. (hey, everybody needs a hook). Think of this as a straight girl’s guide to seduction, sign by sign. She profiles each sign, with tips on how to spot, seduce, date, and have ultimate sex with the men of each sign. While some of it is over the top, this book does spark the imagination. She even includes a “How to Dump” section, in case you find the relationship is not working out (this one might be invaluable for writers who use astrology in character profiles).

4.  By far the funniest book I ever read on Astrology is Darkside Zodiac by Stella Hyde. Written with tons of snark, this book focus on the not-so-nice side of each astrological sign, with hilarious results. Hubby and I read each sign, easily recognizing everyone we knew, including ourselves. Like any good satire, it contains a kernel of truth, and that is what makes it so funny.

5.  The last book on my list is another one that focuses on relationships: Astrology’s Secrets to Hot Romance, by Phyllis F. Mitz, M.A.   The author details the traits of each sign, and the challenges of dealing with each one. The second half pairs up each of the signs, how and why they get along, and how to deal with the ways they don’t. Also a good one for writers to utilize.

All books listed were available on Amazon at the time of this post, but some may also be found in bookstores.

Astrology has been around in one form or another since the dawn of civilization, so it’s not likely to go away any time soon. Why not have fun with it? I am still skeptical, but fascinated at the bits of truth I do find in it. What do you think?

 

 

2 thoughts on “My Top Five Astrology Books- Useful and Fun

Leave a Reply

